Llanymynech Village Hall
Llanymynech, nestled beneath its impressive limestone cliffs, is a small border village with the unique position of being partly in England and partly in Wales. The village hall whilst being in the English half of the village provides an important focus for the whole community. The village hall was built in 1956 on land gifted by the Earl of Bradford, the building itself being paid for by local people.
The Village Appraisal of 1998 showed that the Hall could no longer cope with the demands of a dynamically changing community. The Hall Committee applied to the National Lotteries Board for funds to refurbish and extend the Hall - unfortunately these applications were unsuccessful so we soldiered on and gained funds with the help of Oswestry Borough Council officials, European Development Fund money and the Welsh Assembly monies we now have a new extension and space.
We are happy now to take bookings for business meetings, workshops and small conferences as well as all the regular activities.
The hall is home to a wide range of clubs and societies from the Women's Institute to a lively and well attended Youth Club. The Hall also plays host to the acclaimed amateur dramatics society: the LADS.